SCUBA DIVING NEWS       ::       SCUBALINX       ::       SCUBA POLL       ::       CYBER DIVER       ::       J DIVER       ::       IN-DEPTH       ::       SCUBA SEARCH

Scuba Forum, Scuba Board, Scuba Message BoardScuba Forum - The Scuba Board for Serious DiversScuba Forum :: ForumsScuba Forum :: SearchScuba Forum :: RegisterScuba Forum :: FAQScuba Forum :: RulesScuba Forum :: Recent Posts

PAGE ONE :: FORUMS :: EDITORIALS :: PADI SCUBA DIVER

I have always disagreed with the way that PADI has run their programs...

N. Cal Diver - Instructor/Sales
July 24, 2004 at 12:18:09

I am a YMCA instructor of 15yrs. I have always disagreed with the way that PADI has run their programs. First let me explain what I had to go through to get where I am. After my certification, I worked with another Y instructor for 1 yr as a Teaching Assistant. Then I worked for another yr with this instructor as an assistant instructor, and then was finally recommended into the instructors program. The bottom line is during all of this time co-teaching with a full instructor, I gained valuable experience in handleing both students and an emergency situations. Money for YMCA was not (unlike PADI) the y's main concern. The y's main concern was than they turn out QUALIFIED INSTRUCTORS, who not only learned thier skills and qualifications from books, but from being initiated and mentored into the instructor position.

Sadly, when choosing a class, many students do not understand that the PADI person who will be taking them underwater (the person who will be responsible for your if an emergency should arrise) may not have suffieient experience to handle it. With PADI, experience is not an issue, if you want to move up the ranks, grab a book, pay your money and away you go.